It’s never a good idea to get behind the wheel after drinking. Even a single drink may spike your BAC and result in DWI charges in New York.
However, if you know you have been drinking a lot and you are pulled over, there’s a good chance you will be charged with an aggravated DWI. This charge applies to situations where your BAC is 0.18% or higher, which is twice the legal limit of 0.08%.
Because of the severity of the crime and the danger you present to yourself and others on the road, the penalties for this will be much more severe than a traditional DWI charge.
Potential penalties for an aggravated DWI charge
If you are arrested, charged with and convicted of an AGG DWI, the penalties vary based on your prior conviction history.
The potential consequences of this charge include:
- 1st offense: license revocation for one year (minimum), fines of $1,000 to $2,500, and up to a year in jail.
- 2nd offense: license revocation for 18 months (minimum), fines of $1,000 to $5,000, and up to four years in jail.
- 3rd offense: license revocation for 18 months (minimum), fines of $2,000 to $10,000, and up to seven years in jail.
Protecting your rights with AGG DWI
If you are arrested for an AGG DWI in New York, it is best to know the potential consequences and defenses for this charge. Exploring your legal options will help you protect your rights in most cases. Keep in mind that this charge carries harsher penalties, so it is necessary to make sure you build your defense as soon as possible to attempt to have the charges reduced or dropped.