New York is hard on those who are accused of a DWI. For that reason, it's important for you to work with your attorney to defend yourself. How can you do so?
There are many ways to forge a defense, from showing that you have a medical condition that made you drive dangerously to proving that the breathalyzer was not working properly. If you can't defend yourself, then you could face a litany of penalties.
What are some penalties you could face for a DWI in New York?
Driving while intoxicated or driving while impaired by a drug are two offenses that could lead to fines of up to $1,000. Additionally, you could lose your license for at least six months and face up to a year in jail. Interestingly, if you have been impaired by drugs and alcohol, the combination charge, Driving While Ability Impaired by a Combination of Alcohol/Drugs also holds the same penalties. A second offense is an E felony, and third in 10 years is a D felony.
Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol is a slightly less serious charge, and it's one you may be able to negotiate. This charge has fees of up to $500 and a maximum jail sentence of 15 days. Your license may be suspended for 90 days.
What happens if you refuse a breath test in New York?
If you refuse the chemical test, you'll face a $500 civil penalty and have your license revoked for a year. If you drive commercially, you'll pay $550 instead and face a license suspension of 18 months.
Any time you're accused of a DWI, it's in your best interests to deny the claim and work toward having the charges reduced or eliminated completely. It's possible if you take the time to review your case and create a strong defense.